Flunked by Jen Calonita

21996359 Fairy Tale Reform School: Flunked by Jen Calonita

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date 3/3/15.

Famous fairy tale characters at a Hogwarts-type school?? Be still my heart! This reminded me of a Once Upon a Time episode mixed with a Harry Potter book–2 of my all-time favorite things! Needless to say, I loved this little book and read it in less in a day. Flunked is about a girl named Gillian, who gets sent to Fairy Tale Reform School (FTRS) for stealing from the royals to help her family survive. This is a school that is supposed to help the villains of Enchantasia become heroes, led by none other than the evil stepmother of Cinderella herself. We also see the formerly evil characters from Snow White, Little Red Riding Hood, and The Little Mermaid to name a few.  Gillian finds that there is something weird going on at FTRS and gets involved with some other students who want to figure it all out.  She ends up being considered a hero after a particularly horrifying Royal Day event and is offered the chance to go home early from her sentence, but decides to stay to defeat the evil that is happening….and I’ll stop there. This is a very fun, interesting read; and, even though, it is geared to mostly middle grades, I will still buy for my high school library because I know I have some students who will adore it. Read this one for something a little different!

My rating: 5/5

2 thoughts on “Flunked by Jen Calonita

  1. Pingback: What I Read – March edition | The Library Princess

Leave a comment