Becoming Rain by K.A. Tucker

22609610 Becoming Rain by K.A. Tucker

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, it releases today (3/3/15).

I was very excited to read this title as K.A. Tucker is one of my favorite authors. I love how her “series” books are connected with some of the same characters, but each one is a whole new story (not a continuation of a previous one). This particular title is a companion to Burying Water, focusing on the story of Luke and Clara/Rain.  Luke is set to take over and inherit his Uncle Rust’s garage, which will essentially set him up for life. He quickly learns, though he has always suspected, that there is much more going on behind the scenes involving a car theft ring that, of course, isn’t exactly legal. Clara, undercover as Rain, is given Luke as a target so that the FBI can figure out what is happening with Luke’s uncle and the Russians that he works with.  She has gone undercover many times successfully, but finds it difficult to attract Luke and work her way into the circle.  When she is finally able to get his attention, she then finds it difficult not to grow too close to him.  She finds herself falling for him and can’t bear the thought of him knowing that she has lied to him this whole time when the FBI does close in on him. I have to admit, I often find books predictable (that doesn’t mean they aren’t still good), but I did not feel that way with this one.  I found myself constantly wondering just where this was going to go because I just knew that I wanted their relationship to work out! I wasn’t overall surprised with the ending once I did get there, but the book kept my interest all the way through and I read it very quickly.  I related to both Rain and Luke as characters and felt the emotional struggles seemed very real, which is always an important quality in good characters and writing.  I will recommend this book to friends for sure.

My rating: 5/5

One thought on “Becoming Rain by K.A. Tucker

  1. Pingback: What I Read – March edition | The Library Princess

Leave a Reply

