Leave Me

28110865 Leave Me by Gayle Forman

Summary from Goodreads:

For every woman who has ever fantasized about driving past her exit on the highway instead of going home to make dinner, for every woman who has ever dreamed of boarding a train to a place where no one needs constant attention–meet Maribeth Klein. A harried working mother who’s so busy taking care of her husband and twins, she doesn’t even realize she’s had a heart attack.
Afterward, surprised to discover that her recuperation seems to be an imposition on those who rely on her, Maribeth does the unthinkable: She packs a bag and leaves. But, as is so often the case, once we get to where we’re going, we see our lives from a different perspective. Far from the demands of family and career and with the help of liberating new friendships, Maribeth is finally able to own up to secrets she has been keeping from those she loves and from herself.

My thoughts:

I was not super interested in this book based on the synopsis alone, but I wanted to read it since seeing it at BEA/BookCon in May. I started reading 2 days ago and was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it and how quickly I was working my way through it. Though I could not relate to Maribeth on the level of being a mother and wife, I could relate to her just wanting to get away . You want to hate a character who just up and leaves her family, but I couldn’t bring myself to dislike her all that much. Maribeth is taking time she feels she needs and doing something for herself, which is commendable in some aspects, just maybe not the way she went about it. Anyway, I found her story while in Pittsburgh very interesting, as I can’t imagine being cut off from technology and everyone I know willingly. The other characters in the story were enjoyable as well.

Though I do feel the book wrapped up too neatly and nicely, I still enjoyed the process of getting to that point. I thought the story was wonderfully written, which I was unsure about, because I don’t remember exactly loving or hating If I Stay, which is a young adult book by the same author. I wouldn’t mind reading a sequel to this just to find out what happens with Maribeth’s family. I will purchase this for my library and recommend to my family, friends, and colleagues.

My rating: 4/5

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date 9/6/16.

Leave a Reply

