Truly Madly Guilty

26247008 Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date 7/26/16.

Summary from Goodreads:

Six responsible adults. Three cute kids. One small dog. It’s just a normal weekend. What could possibly go wrong?
Sam and Clementine have a wonderful, albeit, busy life: they have two little girls, Sam has just started a new dream job, and Clementine, a cellist, is busy preparing for the audition of a lifetime. If there’s anything they can count on, it’s each other.
Clementine and Erika are each other’s oldest friends. A single look between them can convey an entire conversation. But theirs is a complicated relationship, so when Erika mentions a last minute invitation to a barbecue with her neighbors, Tiffany and Vid, Clementine and Sam don’t hesitate. Having Tiffany and Vid’s larger than life personalities there will be a welcome respite.
Two months later, it won’t stop raining, and Clementine and Sam can’t stop asking themselves the question: What if we hadn’t gone?

My thoughts:

Okay, so this book both intrigued and frustrated me at the same time. I wanted to keep reading to find out the big secret, but was also frustrated that I didn’t know from the beginning. Basically, for the first half of the book, you know that something happened at a BBQ at a neighbor’s house, but you have no idea what that something was. The story is told in both flashbacks to the bbq and current day (weeks later) and is also told in alternating viewpoints. Sounds confusing, but it actually isn’t at all. I had my predictions about what the secret would end up being, and I was close but not spot on. Even though I wish I had known earlier in the book, I still found it to be a pretty enjoyable read. I liked most of the characters (even though some were a little weird or off-putting) and their background stories, especially the story of Erika’s mother and her hoarding habits. I also like learning new things when I read, so I thought Clementine’s cello-playing was pretty cool too. This was an everyday story about everyday people, but that’s what made it interesting.

I do enjoy Liane Moriarty’s storytelling and she is on my list of authors to read each time a new book is released by them. I would recommend this one to friends and family.

My rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

