Book Expo America (BEA)–Day 3

Day 3 was the last day of the actual BEA event, BookCon (post coming soon) was a separate event that was open to the public. Friday was a more laid-back day for me…thank goodness, but still packed with good stuff if that makes sense. I wasn’t as in a rush or as stressed to get to certain things I guess. Plus, I felt like I had everything figured out by this point, which made things better as well. This was also the first day that I actually sat down and ate something decent for lunch. I ran into some girls from other blogs and sat with them while I ate. Shout-out to the girls at Brittany’s Book Rambles and Michelle! I enjoyed listening to their commentary about things I know nothing about, haha.

Anyway, on to the books and authors. I got in line pretty much first thing–after grabbing The One Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett which author, Chelsea Sedoti, sold me on during a panel Thursday–for Emily Giffin’s new book and to meet her. I was pretty stoked about meeting Emily, as I have been reading her books since Something Borrowed came out. She was absolutely beautiful and seemed super-sweet, if you can tell that much about someone in the 10 seconds you spend with them during this process. I had already been approved on Netgalley for this title, but wanted a physical copy (just not the same, you know?!).

IMG_2968IMG_2964

I had been waiting patiently (a lot) for Danielle Paige’s signing as well and couldn’t wait to meet her. She has been an author that I follow on Twitter and talk to sometimes, so it was exciting to tell her who I was. She is always super nice online and seems to interact with a lot of her fans, which is a great quality for an author to have. I hate that the picture didn’t turn out very well, but I guess that’s what happens when you have to trust a stranger to take photos for you. Can’t wait to read this one, but will wait until closer to release date.

IMG_2972IMG_2970

I also got to meet Kami Garcia (who was hilarious!) and Kristi Yamaguchi (one of my childhood idols!) Friday. Even my non-reader friends knew who Kristi was, so I got a lot of love on Facebook for that one. 🙂  Side note: Her children’s book looks super cute!

IMG_2976IMG_2980

I am a fan of Pretty Little Liars, so I went to the signing of Sara Shepard’s new book as one of my last stops for the day. I was one of the first in the “unofficial” line (all my BEA folks know how that goes), and I found a chair to sit in while I waited…hallelujah! The girl organizing the lines for Disney on Friday was awesome, she was friendly and funny. I had interactions with her earlier in the day waiting for another Melissa de la Cruz signing…I’m not sure what happened to those pictures, but it was the second book I had signed from her during BEA. I’m excited to read this book and to start fresh with a series from her. I always wanted to go back and read the PLL books, but it was too daunting with all my other TBR books since there are so many in the series.

IMG_2987

And, finally, here’s a picture of my haul from Day 3, got some really neat stuff on this day.

1D4A82A8-C11A-45BD-B223-7CC828DDA82A (1)

I had to pack my suitcase Friday night to put in the car Saturday morning before BookCon started, since we had to check out of the hotel before we went. So, these are my books from all three days of BEA. I would say I did pretty well, may have to be a little more selective if I go in the future, especially if it’s in NYC. This is what it looked like and it weighed a TON. Thank goodness I didn’t have to try to haul it home on a train or airplane. Also, thank goodness they make expandable suitcases!

IMG_3006 (1)

I had an excellent time at BEA. Yes, I complained about how tired I was and how bad my body hurt…but would I do it again? Absolutely! However, I would probably skip BookCon in the future, unless there was someone I was just dying to meet. More on BookCon soon!

Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

