The Girl I Used to Be

The Girl I Used to Be The Girl I Used to Be by April Henry

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date 5/3/16.

Summary from Goodreads:

When Olivia’s mother was killed, everyone suspected her father of murder. But his whereabouts remained a mystery. Fast forward fourteen years. New evidence now proves Olivia’s father was actually murdered on the same fateful day her mother died. That means there’s a killer still at large. It’s up to Olivia to uncover who that may be. But can she do that before the killer tracks her down first?

My thoughts:

My students love these mysteries by April Henry and I have enjoyed a few, so I decided to read this at the last minute before it came out. I knew it would be quick read because these books are not too long and they keep your attention. I really enjoyed Olivia’s story and was rooting for her to figure out the truth the whole time. April shared something with me on Twitter about the character of Nora being based on her mother and how she was sharing this book with her mother when she passed away and that made Nora even more lovable in my eyes.

I had no idea of the way things would turn out for sure. April Henry does a good job of keeping you wondering and guessing the wrong people. It is just creepy/weird enough that a lot of my students will love it as well. I am looking forward to getting this one in my library so I can start putting it in hands and I will definitely recommend for summer reading and next school year.

My rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

