Lucky Me

Lucky Me Lucky Me by Saba Kapur

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date 4/5/16.

Summary from Goodreads:

For eighteen year old Gia Winters, having a movie star for a father, a former Playboy bunny as a mother, a Hollywood mansion, and a closet stocked with Chanel is simply another day in the life.
But her world is turned upside down when her father mysteriously hires a group of bodyguards to trail the family 24/7 and threatening phone calls from a “Dr. D” start buzzing daily.
When Gia scores the coveted role of Miss Golden Globe, she is forced to strike a deal with her bodyguard, Jack, who is almost as arrogant as he is attractive. Juggling Gia’s romantic failures, fashion faux pas, and celebrity obsessions, the duo investigate a series of clues with the help of a police cadet, who has a special set of skills and an even better set of dimples.
But with the Golden Globes just around the corner, danger levels rise higher than her stilettos as Gia learns that the biggest secrets might be the ones buried in her own home.
In a place where the hills have eyes, high school nemeses, bad hair days, raging parties, and stolen kisses, there can only be trouble for a girl who was just starting to consider herself lucky.

My thoughts:

This is the kind of book that is pretty much right up my alley, especially after reading some fantasy. This is more of a light mystery with some humor thrown in. While I did enjoy this book, it felt reeealllly long to me for some reason. Don’t know if it was just the reading mood I was in or what was going on. The author has a good writing style and found just the right moments to make the reader laugh at silly thoughts or comments. I thought I kind of figured out who Gia’s stalker was, but was waiting for a twist to be thrown in that never really came. It was still a good ending though and I was okay with how things were resolved. I would recommend to anyone that likes things like the Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella or anything along those lines. I can see some of my high school girls really enjoying this book, so I will be purchasing for my library (think I already ordered actually).

My rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “Lucky Me

  1. Pingback: Lucky Me: AVAILABLE NOW! | Amberjack Publishing

  2. Pingback: Amberjack Publishing

Leave a Reply

