Only Ever You

Only Ever You: A Novel Only Ever You by Rebecca Drake

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date 3/22/16.

Summary from Goodreads:

Jill Lassiter’s three-year-old daughter disappears from a playground only to return after 40 frantic minutes, but her mother’s relief is short-lived–there’s a tiny puncture mark on Sophia’s arm. When doctors can find no trace of drugs in her system, Jill accepts she’ll never know what happened, but at least her child is safe.

Except Sophia isn’t. Someone is watching the Lassiter home in an affluent Pennsylvania suburb, infiltrating the family’s personal and professional lives. While Jill struggles to balance building her photography business with parenting high-spirited Sophia, and David is distracted by pressure to make partner at his law firm, both of them are holding on in a marriage that’s already been rocked by loss.

Three months after the incident at the park, Sophia disappears again, but this time Jill and David become the focus of police and media scrutiny and suspicion. Facing every parent’s worst nightmare a second time, Jill discovers that someone doesn’t just want Sophia for her own, she wants to destroy the entire family.

My thoughts:

This was a really good thriller, I was pretty sure I had it figured out about halfway through, but there were still some twists that I didn’t see coming. The story started out with a bang, with the first disappearance happening immediately, and I thought it would go downhill, but I was wrong. I really enjoyed this author’s writing style, the multiple viewpoints, and the mystery that was the focal point of the story. There were other little mysteries involved as well, which gave the story depth and made it even more interesting. I was appalled by the mean-spirited, crazy nature of the kidnapper…but, I guess, that’s the point. I have enjoyed similar books by Lisa Scottoline in the past, and this is one I would recommend to others who like that author. I had not read anything else by Rebecca Drake, but she is now on my radar. I haven’t decided yet if I will purchase for my high school library, but I do have some colleagues that I think would like it, so I just might.

My rating: 4/5

 

Leave a Reply

