Charmed

Charmed (Fairy Tale Reform School, #2) Charmed (Fairy Tale Reform School #2) by Jen Calonita

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date 3/1/16.

Summary from Goodreads:

It takes a (mostly) reformed thief to catch a spy. Which is why Gilly Cobbler, Enchantasia’s  most notorious pickpocket, volunteers to stay locked up at Fairy Tale Reform School…indefinitely. Gilly and her friends may have defeated the Evil Queen and become reluctant heroes, but the battle for Enchantasia has just begun.
Alva, aka The Wicked One who cursed Sleeping Beauty, has declared war on the Princesses, and she wants the students of Fairy Tale Reform School to join her. As her criminal classmates give in to temptation, Gilly goes undercover as a Royal Lady in Waiting (don’t laugh) to unmask a spy…before the mole can hand Alva the keys to the kingdom.
Her parents think Gilly the Hero is completely reformed, but sometimes you have to get your hands dirty. Sometimes it’s good to be bad…

My thoughts:
I was excited to read this because I read the first one and thought it was adorable. I enjoyed this one as well, it picks up right where Flunked left off, and even though I’m awful at remembering details from books I read more than a month ago, I didn’t have any trouble following this second book. The author does a good job of reminding you what happened with characters in the first book throughout this one. I thought the little fairy tale cliches were just as cute this time around too, as well as the magical scroll news stories throughout the book. This is a fun middle-grade novel that I will purchase for some of my readers at my high school library. If you love fairy tales, princesses, and villains, then you will absolutely think these books are fun!

My rating: 4/5

 

Leave a Reply

