My Secret to Tell by Natalie D. Richards

24827938 My Secret to Tell by Natalie D. Richards

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date is 10/6/15.

I read book by this author previously, Six Months Later, and wasn’t in love with it, but this description pulled me in.

Emmie is best friends with Chelsea and her brother, Deacon (whom she has had a crush on forever) and even works for their dad’s company.  One night, she finds Deacon has snuck into her bedroom and is covered in blood. This happens to be the same night that Deacon and Chelsea’s father is seriously injured….thus leading many to think Deacon is at fault, knowing that he had a volatile relationship with his father.  While Deacon is hiding out (he knows people think he is guilty), Emmie is working to help prove his innocent, uncovering some curious things about the family business on the way. Is it Deacon’s fault or was he caught in someone else’s web of lies?

This was a good mystery and I truly didn’t know what the outcome was going to be, so it was not predictable. The characters are relatable and, as a reader, I did not want Deacon to be the one who committed this crime. Even though he had some problems, he was still likeable. I can see many of my high school students liking this story and I will definitely recommend it to them.  It was a quick, captivating read.

My rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

