The Detour by S.A. Bodeen

23310734 The Detour by S.A. Bodeen

***This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date is 10/6/15.

I know it’s been awhile since I posted, but I was taking a little hiatus from reading advanced copies of books. It was starting to feel like homework and I wasn’t enjoying the deadline aspect of it. Plus, there are SOOO many other books I want to read. I am also reading books for my state award for next school year, which is rather time-consuming. So, anyway, here we go….

Livvy is a famous teen author of a young adult trilogy. She is driving her beautiful Audi when she spots a weird girl standing on the side of the road and ends up having an accident. She thinks the girl is going to help her, but there are other things brewing. Livvy wakes up in a room and discovers she is not at the hospital, but at someone’s home. The woman, Peg, tells her she has called an ambulance but Livvy soon discovers this is a lie. For some reason, Peg and her daughter (Flute Girl) are holding Livvy captive in their basement. Livvy is injured and has no idea what is going on. The story takes place over a very short amount of time (2-3 days) and is about her struggle to escape her captors. There is a creepy uncle involved and Livvy uses him to her advantage. All the while, Peg keeps telling her that she needs to apologize for what she did, but Livvy has no idea what she’s talking about. Will she escape? Will she find out what Peg is getting revenge for?

I enjoyed this book–short and suspenseful. I read it in 2 sittings and I can see this as something my high school students will really love. S.A. Bodeen is pretty popular already in my library, especially for The Compound, so it will be an easy recommendation on my part. There is just enough action and mystery to keep you reading. I will gladly purchase for my high school library!

My rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

