The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

20623529 The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

***This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date 7/7/15.

I was sold by just the author on this book, but then I read the description and knew I had to try to get approved for the ARC. It made me think of a teen version of Scandal, which is one of my favorite shows of all time.

Tess is forced to go live with her sister, Ivy, in DC when her grandpa falls to ill to continue taking care of her. She is unsure of what it is that her sister actually does, but finds out quickly at her new school, Hardwicke, which is where all the children of important people in DC attend. Ivy is considered a “fixer” among all the nation’s politicians and most wealthy people. She is the one they all go to when they need a problem covered up or fixed, maybe in an illegal way. Tess quickly gets a reputation amongst her peers as being the junior fixer of the family. Once a fellow classmate’s relative is possibly murdered, the mysterious activities begin. Tess, and her friends, are trying to figure out on their own what happened, because the adults are keeping them out of the loop.  Along the way, they uncover a lot of secrets that can, and do, put them in danger; with Tess finding out a secret that changes everything about the life she’s known.

Like most of the titles I’ve read by Jennifer Lynn Barnes, I enjoyed this one. It was a fast-paced, fun read with lots of twists and turns. I will be buying for my library and recommending to students.

My rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

