Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

23281652 Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date is 6/2/2015.

I really didn’t even know what this book was about when I picked it from the massive list I had of books coming out on June 2nd, but I’m glad it is one of the ones I chose! This is an addicting story that was a quick read and kept me entertained throughout. I couldn’t wait to find out what happened.

The book pulls you in from the beginning, where you are reading about the rescue of Frances from a cruise ship accident. When she awakes from her rescue, she discovers that her friend, Libby, did not survive, dying only moments before they were saved. Frances knows she has no one to go home to after the tragedy, so she decides, with the help of Libby’s father, to take on a new identity. She becomes Libby in order to protect herself from those involved in the “accidental” sinking of the Persephone. She goes off to boarding school to get away from it all and learn all about how to be a different person. Four years later, she returns home after Libby’s father’s death and puts a meticulous revenge plan into motion. Senator Wells and his son, Grayer, also survived the sinking, but have lied about what happened from the moment of their rescue, five days sooner than Libby and Frances were discovered.  As the only 3 survivors, Libby/Frances knows it is up to her to uncover the truth. By seducing Gray, she is able to get him to trust her and the truth finally comes out. However, this truth does not keep her out of danger like she had thought.

Though the book is pretty fast-paced, the action really picked up once she discovers what really happened aboard the ship. I never really figured out who was responsible for the sinking, but it all made sense when it was revealed. I really enjoyed this book and think I will be recommending it quite a bit when school starts again.  Though the character is technically a teenager, I never really saw her that way.  I thought it read more adult, but definitely not inappropriate. Not only is this a good mystery, but it shows how a person can be a survivor as well. Though Libby/Frances wasn’t the most likable character at all times, I still found myself rooting for her. All around, a good choice!

My rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

