Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

22609317 Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

**This review is based on an ARC provided by Netgalley, release date is 5/12/15.

Though I was impressed with the snarkiness of the main character from the beginning of this book, I have to admit I almost gave up on it not even three chapters in because I just couldn’t get into it much. The chapters are super long, which kind of irritated me, but the story did get much better as it went on. TifAni switches back and forth between her present day life and high school in telling her story. She has transformed herself after a tragedy that occurred her freshman year and has become Ani in her adult life (wouldn’t you?!), a writer for a popular women’s magazine. She is engaged to a wealthy man and living the life she thinks she always wanted. In the first several chapters, you keep hearing about a documentary that she is participating in that is about this horrible thing that happened to her, but you don’t find out what it is for quite a while. When I did get to that part of the book, I was hooked and very tense while reading. If someone had walked into my office during that lunch, I would have probably screamed because I was extremely engrossed. I definitely enjoyed the chapters that were about her younger life more (possibly because I work with high schoolers?) than I did the present day stuff, and I didn’t think she was very likable as an adult.  She seemed very hard to get along with and pretty shallow, but who knows what I would be like if I had lived through something like that. There were some pretty funny lines and quips that come out of her that made me laugh, which is always a good thing in my world. Overall, I would probably recommend if someone asked me about this book, but I don’t know if it is one that would just come to me if someone just asked for something good to read. Make sense? To me, it does! 🙂

My rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

