Material Girls by Elaine Dimopoulos

22749847 Material Girls by Elaine Dimopoulos

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date is 5/5/15.

This book was interesting…I didn’t dislike it, but I didn’t love it.  It did keep me reading though, which is important. Had I not been a lover of fashion though, I’m not sure this would have been the case.  The story is set in the future (?) and kids are “tapped” at the age of 13 to go into a creative field, or not tapped at all and considered an Adequate…which means they have to become a doctor or lawyer (gasp, the horror!). Those that are tapped are placed into a field and assigned a specific job. The main characters, Marla and Ivy, told in alternating viewpoints, were both tapped to big-time careers that were their dreams. Marla was assigned to one of the Big Five fashion design companies and Ivy became a pop star. Though the story is also about Ivy, I felt it was more geared towards Marla’s story, though they were integrated well.  Marla’s time is pretty much already up in her dream gig at the ripe age of 16 and she is assigned to a lowly position within the company after being demoted from one of the most prestigious jobs. She and the other unhappy employees decide they would like to strike and they try to work with big people, like Ivy, to help them accomplish their goals.  Of course, there is a bit of romance involved, but it does not overtake the real point of the plot, which is basically about learning to be happy with what you have and not striving for fame and perfection. My main complaint with the book was that it just ended without much being resolved…the characters were basically in the same place as before, there was no resolution for me at all.

Overall, I guess I would give this book 4 stars for creativity and idea, but only 2 stars for execution, development, and world-building. I never really knew why the world ended up this way or when it started, anything really. I will most likely purchase for my library, but not sure how much I will recommend it.

My rating: 3/5

One thought on “Material Girls by Elaine Dimopoulos

Leave a Reply

