Denton Little’s Deathdate by Lance Rubin

18883231 Denton Little’s Deathdate by Lance Rubin

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, it releases 4/14/15.

I don’t usually start this way….but I really enjoyed this book! I remember thinking it sounded interesting when I saw it on Netgalley months ago, but waited until closer to release date to read it and I wasn’t disappointed. Denton lives in a time where everyone knows the date they are going to die from birth. Other than that, the people and society are no different than we are currently. That is just how it is, and Denton is an “Early”…meaning he won’t live past high school. He befriended Paolo as a young child because he was in the same predicament. In fact, their deathdates are less than a month apart. This whole book essentially takes place in 2 days, the day of Denton’s funeral (people attend their own funerals) and the day of his Sitting, which is the day he dies. No one knows how they are going to die or when during that day it will happen, so they have a tradition of staying “safe” in their homes with loved ones; though this never keeps them from the actual death part. At his funeral, Denton meets a stranger that tells him to trust no one, especially government types. He has no idea what this means, but tries to find out more before his time comes. The day of his death is quite full of events and situations, not to mention a mysterious rash/splotch that is spreading by the minute it seems. That is about all I can say without giving away the conclusion…and what an interesting conclusion it was. I’m pretty sure we are wide open for a sequel! I read this book quickly and didn’t want to put it down. I found it entertaining and rather humorous, a good one to recommend to those who ask for funny books. There are serious moments of course (we are dealing with death here!), but I am always looking for books I can recommend to boys and this is one of them. I will be purchasing it for my library, already have in fact!

Leave a Reply

