Chasing Sunsets by Karen Kingsbury

22609428 Chasing Sunsets by Karen Kingsbury

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, releases on 4/7/15.

My reliable Karen Kingsbury did it again….had me hooked from word one. I read half this book one night and the other half the second night.  There is just something about her writing, I feel like I know all the characters and I can envision everything that is happening vividly.  They are just so real!  This particular story is mostly about Marcus and Mary Catherine, with several other characters that are vital to the storyline. Marcus is a famous pitcher for the Dodgers that wants to give back to his community by opening a Youth Center in a rough area. When gangs threaten the success of his center and even his life, Marcus tries to find a way to overcome the challenges, all while trying to navigate his developing feelings for God and Mary Catherine. She is a vibrant, young woman who thrives on adrenaline rushes…..but, she has a life-threatening medical condition.  This keeps her from wanting to fall in love so she doesn’t have to hurt herself or anyone else when her illness takes over. She is devoted to helping her friends at the youth center be successful, but can’t decide how involved she should get. With the help of other characters–Sami, Tyler, Lexy, Dwayne, Jag, Aspyn, and many others– a wonderful story unfolds, which is heart-wrenching and happy all at the same time.  Karen Kingsbury is the queen of making you feel all the feels while reading her books.  She left me hanging at the end of this one though, so I can’t wait for more! My whole family loves these titles and I have managed to introduce many of my colleagues and even students to love her books as well. This definitely is on its way to my high school library! Keep ’em coming, Karen, please!

My rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

