At the Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen

23209927 At the Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, it releases on 3/31/15.

I didn’t know quite what to expect with this book, but I remembered liking Water for Elephants pretty well, so I wanted to try it out when I saw it on Netgalley. It is historical fiction, which I am not usually all that excited about, but Sara Gruen is able to write in a modern voice that doesn’t make it difficult to read. Maddie and Ellis are a married, high-society type couple in the 1940s; attending lavish parties and getting into trouble. During one such party, Ellis manages to embarrass his father to the point of getting him (and Maddie) kicked out and cut off. Trying to redeem himself with his father, he sets off to Scotland to try to hunt down the Loch Ness Monster, a passion of his father’s. He brings Maddie and their best friend, Hank, along for the ride. The obsession (and alcohol) consumes Ellis and Hank as they leave Maddie behind at the inn/tavern most days, so she makes friends of her own in the process and discovers that she can be an independent woman. Ellis tries to use threats to keep her around, but she sees through his lies, as does everyone else eventually. While all of this is going on, there is also the matter of World War II, which is causing constant fear and dread among the characters. Overall, I really enjoyed this story and was able to finish it fairly quickly.  Though it wasn’t high drama or intensity (in my opinion), I found it very well-written and it kept my attention throughout. I will be recommending this to family and friends and have already purchased for my library.

My rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “At the Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen

  1. Pingback: What I Read – March edition | The Library Princess

Leave a Reply

