The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie

21413855 The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, release date is 3/24/15.

Before I go into the review, I will clarify that I had never heard of this YouTube channel before being approved for an advanced copy of this book.  Now that I have read it, I may become a subscriber!  This is the story of Sunshine….she was adopted as a baby and named so because her adoptive mother said she knew immediately that she would be the light of her life. The book begins with the two moving to a new town for her mother’s dream job.  This is a dreary, rainy, and “creepy” town to say the least. Immediately, Sunshine starts hearing voices and has interactions with what she believes is a little girl.  No one will believe her, including her own mother, who can’t seem to remember an interaction that she, herself, also had with the ghost; but, then she meets Nolan in art class at school (if you can call it art!) and he believes her and wants in on the mystery. Sunshine finds out that she has been blessed with some special “powers”, but has to pass a test to rid her home of a demon before it destroys what little family she has.  I normally am not a huge fan of creepy books (though I am a fan of creepy/scary movies), but I thought this one was pretty darn good.  I stayed up late several nights reading because I wanted to know what was going to happen.  The character development in this story was outstanding and the characters were easy to like. Though there was a touch of romance, it was not done in a way that took over the main plot of the book or that was sappy at all. I was rooting for the characters through the whole story.  This had just enough touch of creepy without being too scary for most. I can definitely see my high school students enjoying this book, so it will be a library purchase! I don’t know how much of this book (if any) is based on her YouTube videos, but I intend to find out.

My rating: 4/5

One thought on “The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie

  1. Pingback: What I Read – March edition | The Library Princess

Leave a Reply

