What I read in January 2015

Capture

These are the books that I read (and finished) in January.  I am working on 2 more right now that I will finish in the next day or so.

1. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

2. When by Victoria Laurie

3. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

4. Burn for Burn by Siobhan Vivian & Jenny Han

5. Since You’ve Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne

6. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

7. Dirty Rush by Taylor Bell

8. Yes Please by Amy Poehler

I usually only write reviews of the ARC books that I read, so I will give a little feedback here for the others.  If you have read my posts, you probably already know that All the Bright Places is my absolute favorite of this month, looking good as a possibility for favorite of the year (yes, I’m saying that in January!). I can’t wait for the hype to catch on among my students! I also really enjoyed Dirty Rush as a kind of “trashy” read, though it wasn’t really trashy, just fun! I will not be buying for my library though as it is pretty much solely about drinking and doing drugs. 🙂 I just read this morning that I’ll Give You the Sun won a Printz award, and it is definitely well-deserved, hoping to get my students into this one as well. The others were all pretty satisfying reads and I will recommend them since there wasn’t one that I really disliked. I can see When being one that a lot of my girls would enjoy.

Currently reading: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah (releases tomorrow 2/3) and Take My Breath Away by Wendy Wilson (won’t be releasing for quite some time, I am serving as a beta reader for this local author).

Leave a Reply

