The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion

21844019 The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley.  It was released on 12/30/14.

The Rosie Effect is the second book in the Don Tillman series.  I read The Rosie Project over the summer and recommended to a few others, so I was excited to get a hold of an advanced copy of this title.  This one didn’t disappoint either.  I really enjoy reading about Don’s antics and found myself laughing out loud at several spots in the book. Though it is never said outright, I assume that Don is on the Autism Spectrum…specifically Asperger’s Syndrome seems likely.  I am, obviously, not an expert and could never diagnose, but that’s my impression and that’s the only point of reading a book, right?  Being able to make your own assumptions and view the characters how you see them.  Graeme Simsion really does a great job of showing you what it must be like in the head of someone who is very socially awkward, along with many other quirks.  The writing doesn’t just explain funny situations, it really lets you see what Don is thinking as they are happening and shows you his logic in the thinking.  Again, I found myself laughing out loud and sometimes even cringing for him. 🙂  Anyway, this story focuses on Rosie and Don after their marriage and when they find out they are expecting…without planning it! If you have read the first book, you know how much of a planner Don is, so this throws his whole world out of orbit.  They suffer from a lack of communication and I found myself worrying about their relationship throughout the story.  I was emotionally invested in these characters, so I wanted things to work for them.  We also get to see a lot of the characters from Book 1 and meet some new endearing ones as well.  It is hard to say much more without divulging too much info, so I will keep this short.  I will add this to my library as well so I can recommend it to my coworkers and the students I have that do like to read adult books.

My rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

