We Should Hang Out Sometime by Josh Sundquist

9780316251020_p0_v2_s260x420 We Should Hang Out Sometime by Josh Sundquist

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley, it releases on 12/23.

Okay, I’ll admit I am not much of a nonfiction reader.  I usually find them tedious and repetitive to make my way through. However, I did not feel that was the case with this book.  It reads very much like a fiction book, which was the first benefit to me; but, it is also funny so that is another plus.  Josh is trying to figure out why he has never had a “real” girlfriend so he goes back and examines each pseudo-relationship he has had from Junior High and up.  For each girl he talks about, he gives an in-depth background of how he met her, what their “relationship” was like, and where it went wrong.  He then gives a short hypothesis and what he thinks happened and does an investigation by meeting with them in present-day and talking about their past.  With some of them, he can easily find out what happened and with others he is still baffled as to what happened between them.  Josh is eventually able to discover what it is that is keeping him from finding the right girl and having an actual relationship with her and the book ends with his present situation (not saying anything else!).  Again, I am admittedly not a nonfiction reader, but I can see myself recommending this title to my high school students, boys and girls, easily and being able to talk about it in a way that will interest them.  It is also a quick read, which is always a benefit for many of my students.

My rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

