Honeymoon Hotel by Hester Browne

download Honeymoon Hotel by Hester Browne

**This review is based on an ARC from Netgalley.  The title was released on 9/16.

I have previously only read The Runaway Princess from this author and I enjoyed it, so I was looking forward to reading this title.  Though it took me awhile to get through (mainly my own busy stuff getting in the way), I really liked it!  It reminded me of the Wedding Planner Quartet from Nora Roberts a lot and I loved those books.  This was a story about Rosie, a wedding planner in a unique London hotel, that feels underappreciated for all she does for the hotel and its guests.  She is in a relationship with Dominic…another situation in which she feels underwhelmed and not appreciated or valued.  Dominic is a food critic so Rosie is treated to nice dinners out quite often (almost daily) as part of his work, but she is always the one who eats the things he doesn’t and he steals all her good jokes and credits them to himself in his writing.  Turns out, that isn’t the only thing he’s been shady about.  While trying to get a promotion within the hotel, Rosie is tasked with taking on an “intern” in the form of her boss’s son, Joe, whom she is afraid is being trained to take over the job she actually wants.  Joe seems like an egotistical, yet carefree, guy who could care less about weddings and tradition, which makes it hard for Rosie to like him at all. He seems an intolerable character at first, but grows on you as the story goes on.  Rosie finds out her relationship is not all it is cracked up to be and the story goes on from there with Rosie trying to better herself and decide what she is going to do with her career.  It is an endearing story with quite a few laughs and “Come on with it!” moments (as far as Rosie and Joe go!) that I will definitely be recommending to my friends.

My rating: 4/5

Who would I recommend it to?  My adult friends and family mostly.  I will not buy it for my high school library most likely.

Leave a Reply

