The Furies by Natalie Haynes

19286509 The Furies by Natalie Haynes

**This review is based an ARC from Netgalley, this title releases 8/26/14.

When I saw the summary of this book on Netgalley, I immediately wanted to read it.  I misinterpreted the part about Greek tragedies thinking it was going to be about Greek Mythology, which I and my students have a high interest in…oops!  But, I read it anyway and here is what I thought:

Alex is a young woman who comes back to Edinburgh (after attending college there) from London after tragedy strikes and her fiance is killed in a stabbing incident.  She is offered a job at The Unit, an alternative school for students who have been kicked out or removed from other schools in the area for various reasons.  She is able to connect with a particularly troubled class of older students in a drama-therapy class by having them read and discuss Greek tragedies.  One of her students, Mel, takes a particular interest in the class, the plays, and in Alex herself…maybe too much of an interest.  The story is told in what I thought was a pretty confusing manner, at least on Alex’s part.  It was easy to determine which parts were from Mel’s point of view because they were italicized and written in diary or letter format; but, Alex jumped from past to present without warning and I had a bit of trouble following the story.  We know from the beginning that another something horrible has happened and that lawyers are trying to get Alex to open up to them about it.  It is fairly predictable that Mel is somehow involved, but I wasn’t sure just how far it would go.

Overall, I did enjoy the story, but wish it would have been a bit easier to follow.  Since I also work with students near this age, I was able to easily relate to Alex when it came to the classroom scenes.

My rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

