Just Call My Name by Holly Goldberg Sloan

just call Just Call My Name by Holly Goldberg Sloan

**This is a review of an ARC provided through Netgalley, it will release on 8/5.

I read the first book in this series (?), I’ll Be There, because it was on the Gateway Reader Award list last school year (that’s a Missouri state award).  To be honest, it was not high up on my list of the ones I wanted to read first, but I like to try and read all of them so I can recommend them to my students and get them involved in the state awards and voting.  I picked up I’ll Be There and was pleasantly surprised.  It was a quick read because it was an interesting story that I didn’t want to put down.  Just Call My Name is the continuation of Sam’s story, along with other main characters.  In this book (spoiler alert if you haven’t read the first), Sam’s father is plotting an escape from jail in order to seek revenge on his sons for “betraying” him.  Sam is trying to move on and lead a semi-normal teenage life–starting college classes, getting to know a new family, helping his brother adjust, having a girlfriend, etc.  Then, Destiny comes into the picture….Sam can tell she will cause him trouble from the first time he lays eyes on her.  She is an eccentric, yet beautiful, girl who has just come to town and is looking for some stability.  Same tries to avoid any alone-time with her to resist temptation, but Destiny works her way into his life and the life of his girlfriend.  Meanwhile, Clarence Borders (Sam’s dad) is on the run and using his criminal skills to find his children. Will he find them and what will come of it? Without giving away too much, let’s just say that Destiny ends up coming in really handy and shows her redeemable qualities as well.This is a story that will appeal to many of my reluctant readers because it is easy to stay invested in the story.  It is also a very gender-neutral storyline.

My Rating: 4/5

Who would I recommend this to? Any of my high school readers.  I will be purchasing it for my high school library.

Language: There is not much vulgarity in this story (if any?).

Sex: There is some mention of sex, but nothing graphic.

Drugs/Alcohol: There is a bit of drinking, but it is not shown in a positive light.

Leave a Reply

