Five Ways to Fall by K.A. Tucker

Image

While ordering books for my high school library, I came across the first title in this “series” (I say “series” because each book is the story of a different character that is also in the other books so they can be read out of order).  The first book is Ten Tiny Breaths, and I decided to go ahead and read it because I had also read that it was part of the New Adult genre, that was just then being introduced to me and I wasn’t sure what to expect.  Though the title is not so appropriate for my students, I found myself thoroughly enjoying the characters and their stories.  The books are set around characters who work in a strip club in one capacity or another, so keep that in mind.  That being said, I found myself eating up the other books as they came out and was thrilled to be approved to read an Advanced Copy of this one (it comes out in June) on NetGalley.  I quickly downloaded it and got started.  This book was pretty intriguing from the beginning, telling the story of Ben (from the other titles) and Reese, a new character.  Reese is a recently divorced 21-year-old coming out of a short relationship with a husband who cheated.  She is known for being a rebel, and gets away to Mexico to recover from her failed marriage.  There, she meets Ben who is celebrating his graduation from law school and the chaos ensues.  They, of course, run into each other again and try not to get involved with one another.  The story is interesting in many ways.  Ben has your typical playboy background and doesn’t want to commit even though he truly is a good person, while Reese is damaged and wants to get revenge on her ex.  They are well developed, relatable characters and I was never bored while reading the book, though it could have moved a little more quickly at parts.  I will be following K.A. Tucker’s work in the future, though this is supposed to be the last in this series, I’m sure she will continue to write and I thoroughly enjoy her style and characters.  Even though I wouldn’t recommend this for a high school library, I would recommend it to my friends and possibly some of my more mature students to read on their own time.

Who would I recommend this to?: Mature teens, “new adults”, those who like contemporary romance.

My rating (out of 5): 4

Language: pretty offensive, but it is geared toward the new adult age so that makes a little sense

Sex: Quite a bit of explicit sexual content, lots of sexual references and discussion

Drugs/Alcohol:  Quite a bit of drinking, but no real drug discussion that I can recall

**I received this ARC copy from NetGalley and am giving my own opinion and thoughts.  I was not paid to write this review.

Leave a Reply

